Why 5S fail? We’re done!

Most of 5S assessment or audit systems I’ve seen are built upon a maturity scale, usually from 1 (poor or insufficient) to 5 (complete, satisfactory or the like) for each of the 5Ss and a schedule for the assessments or audits.

The way these systems are built is most often misleading, letting people believe that once the minimum level achieved to pass the audit is reached for every S, they’re done.

In fact they had one first turn of the PDCA wheel. Yet achieving this is sometimes painstaking enough that facilitators in charge are not eager to explain it was just a start and the whole has to be repeated over and over at higher level each time.

Management sees a good enough improvement of the situation and is not really willing to sponsor an activity that does not directly yield more output.

So there is a hypocrite general agreement that “they’re done” with 5S and it’s time to move on to something else.

This post is part of the Why 5S fail series

Bandeau_CH40_smlView Christian HOHMANN's profile on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.