Employee Engagement Model as self-assessment tool

In a previous post, I presented the Employee Engagement Model as guidelines for management. In this post I take the other side’s view (employee’s) and consider it as a self-assessment tool.

Self-assessment

Regardless to position and job, everyone can self-assess his/her satisfaction/contribution level on a more or less arbitrary High/low scale. Of course this self-assessment is likely to be biased, but to remain meaningful, the following types of questions have to be answered as honestly as possible.

  • Am I contributing to my organization’s goal in the way, intensity and consistency expected?
  • If I was my boss, would I be satisfied with the contribution?
  • Am I sure to know what is expected from me? Is there a possibility I misunderstood or underestimated the expectation?
  • Have I any hint that my boss/organization is satisfied with my contribution? Conversely any hint they are not?

What is probably easier to assess is the satisfaction regarding personal goals:

  • Do I find satisfaction in my job? Always or only sometimes?
  • Would I rate it overall satisfactory?
  • Are job and personal life balanced?
  • Are (any form of) rewards consistent with the efforts I pay?

Confusing Crash and Burners with Hamsters

It may happen from time to time to experience a low in morale, feeling exhausted but giving so much to the organization. It looks like Crash and Burning, yet it may in reality be Hamster in a wheel, burning lot of energy for nothing.

In such situation it is important to check if the tasks and chores are important and urgent, necessary to organization’s goal achievement or something secondary.
I sometimes draw myself a small Goal Tree when I am afraid to lose focus or feel overwhelmed. The logical tree helps me to sort out the real necessary tasks from the nice-to-haves or other mismatched or misunderstood items.

>Read more about Hamsters and Crash and Burners

Confusing disengagement with fatigue

Another confusion may occur between disengagement and low motivation or fatigue. It is necessary to question the reality of lack of interest and involvement, but the answer may not come easy and sincere in a state of exhaustion. In any case, it is advisable to get a rest before assessing the position.
Once feeling fit again, if lack of motivation persists despite good physical condition and better spirit, the causes of the drop in motivation should be searched.

>Read more about the seemingly disengaged

Full engagement is the ideal state with maximum personal satisfaction and maximum contribution. Depending the result of the self-assessment, if the ideal state is not the current one, the question should be: what is the next step I can make to get me closer to engagement and/or what should I ask for to bring me closer to engagement?


Chris HOHMANN


Disclaimer

The credit for BlessingWhite ‘X’ model of employee engagement goes to BlessingWhite.
I have no connections to BlessingWhite. Opinon, analysis and testimonies are all mine.


Leave a Reply

